2019 winners of Teen Creative Writing Challenge announced

    DECATUR - The Southwest Michigan Teen Creative Writing Challenge is set to award more than $1,600 in prizes to the 2019 winners.
    More than 90 submissions in the categories of Fiction, Poetry, Comics and Cover Art were received from students in seventh through 12th grades, between Feb. 1 and Apr. 12, in four categories: Fiction, Poetry, Comics, and Cover Art.
    The judges’ decisions determined the winners to be:
    Seventh - Eighth Grade Fiction - First place: Charlie DeGraves, Lawrence; Second place: Ilona Fiedorowicz, South Haven; Third place: Katie Blomeke, Kalamazoo.
    Ninth - 10th Grade Fiction - First place: Andrew Quinones, Benton Harbor;  Second place: Martha Schaller, Dowagiac; Third place: Miriam Gartland, Paw Paw.
    11th - 12th Grade Fiction - First place: Sophie Paquin, Lawton; Second place: Megan Evans, Cassopolis; Third place: Leo Rosales, Edwardsburg.
    Seventh - Eighth Grade Poetry - First place: Ginger Woodhams, Mattawan; Second place: Leonard Kovacs-Baruah, Mattawan; Third place: Charlie DeGraves, Lawrence.
    Ninth - 10th Grade Poetry - First place: Kelsee Sharp, Edwardsburg; Second  place: Martha Schaller, Dowagiac; Third place: Andrew Quinones, Benton Harbor.
    11th - 12th Grade Poetry - First place: Joel Reynolds, Plainwell; Second place: Caitlyn Haner, Mattawan; Third place: Sophie Paquin, Lawton.
    Seventh - Eighth Grade Comics - First place: Madisyn Williams, Dowagiac; Second place: Abygail Bulley, Bangor
    Ninth - 10th Grade Comics - First place: Emalie Caley, Marcellus; Second place: Miriam Gartland, Paw Paw.
    11th - 12th Grade Comics - First place: Megan Evans, Cassopolis; Second place: Richard Barnes, Niles.
    Cover Art - First place:   Deana Perez, Hartford; Second place: Patience Nadiya Davis, Covert; Third place: Megan Evans, Cassopolis.
    Fiction judges were Rich Frantz, Jenny Phillips, and Elaine Stephens. Poetry judges included Christine Hepper-mann and Ron Koertge. Jake Rhody, Kenjji Jumane-Mars, and Paul Sizer judged Comics. Leslie Helakoski, Tom Hageman, and Patty Miller-Coy judged Cover Art.
    The public is invited to the official Awards Ceremony, Saturday, June 15, 2 p.m., Cass District Library, Cassopolis. At that time, winners receive their monetary awards, a professionally printed book that includes their work, and the opportunity to share excerpts of their writing.
    The Southwest Teen Creative Writing Challenge is sponsored by Cass District Library, Dowagiac District Library, Hartford Public Library, Lawton Public Library, Marcellus Township Wood Memorial Library, Paw Paw District Library, and Van Buren District Library. Additional support is made possible from the Friends of the Paw Paw District Library, Friends of the Antwerp Sunshine Library, Dowagiac Ladies Library Association, Friends of the Bloomingdale Branch Library, Friends of the Van Buren District Library, Friends of the Bangor Branch Library, and the Friends of the Lawrence Branch Library.
    For updated information about related activities, look for Southwest Michigan Teen Creative Writing Challenge 2019 on Facebook, contact the nearest participating library or e-mail info@vbdl.org.

The Courier-Leader & Paw Paw Flashes

The Courier-Leader & Paw Paw Flashes
32280 E. Red Arrow Hwy. • P.O. Box 129
Paw Paw, MI 49079
(269) 657-5080

Email Us

Facebook Pinterest