Lawton School Board seats new members, elects officers at year’s organizational meeting

	At its organizational meeting Monday, the Lawton Community Schools Board of Education elected officers for the upcoming year and welcomed new members. The full board includes, from left: front row - Treasurer Bryan Cronenwett, President Walter Hitchcock, and Secretary Doug Townsend; Back row -  Matt Riggs, Toby Fields, Vice-president Steve Carroll, and Matt Sparks. 	Photo courtesy of Lawton Community Schools

    LAWTON - At its annual Organizational Meeting Monday, the Lawton Board of Education  welcomed new members Matt Sparks and Matt Riggs. The Board then selected new officers and established standing committees for the upcoming year.
    The newly-elected President of the Board is Walter Hitchcock.
Steve Carroll will continue as Vice-President. Other new officers include Doug Townsend, Secretary, and Bryan Cronenwett, Treasurer.
    The Board took the following actions:
    •Approved the Preliminary Qualification Application with the Department of Treasury. This is a necessary process as the District prepares for a May 7, 2019 bond election.
    •Hired Wade Waldrup as varsity football coach. Coach Wal-drup’s coaching experience in-cludes stints as Defensive Coor-dinator at Mattawan and Constan-tine high schools.
    •Superintendent Chris Rice thanked Board members for their service in honor of January as School Board Recognition Month. The Lawton Board has been honored several times by the Mich-igan Association of School Boards for its commitment to professional learning and certification.


The Courier-Leader & Paw Paw Flashes

The Courier-Leader & Paw Paw Flashes
32280 E. Red Arrow Hwy. • P.O. Box 129
Paw Paw, MI 49079
(269) 657-5080

Email Us

Facebook Pinterest